Posted by: geolocke | 2017/03/31

Sacred Clay

This past Sunday’s Gospel (John 9: 1-41) was about the man born blind who Jesus healed on the Sabbath. It is one of the longer readings in the Church’s Liturgical Cycle with most of the focus being upon the “blindness” of the Scribes and Pharisees when they question the man born blind after Jesus heals him.

It’s been my experience that their blindness is the focus of most homilies based upon this Gospel, but I find something more intriguing to center my prayer upon in the details of this man and his healing.

The method by which Jesus heals him is to spit on the ground, and with his saliva, make clay and then smears it upon the blind man’s eyes, telling him to go wash it off in the pool called “Siloam” (sent). The man goes and washes and he is healed and can see.

To me, this harkens back to the second creation story in Genesis where God forms man out of the Clay of the earth and breathes His Spirit into him to give him life.  In John’s Gospel, Jesus states that the man’s blindness is not due to Sin, but is so “the works of God can be made visible through him.”

For me, the message I pray upon is the thought that the healing of this man is in a sense a kind of “final act” of his creation, like an artist putting the final touches of paint on a painting.  I also pray about how the man born blind does not have a name, although it is clear from the Gospel that everyone knew who he was. Yet even his parents when they were questioned refused to use his name.

This illustrates to me that he was not only made whole and complete by his healing, but also was made anew and was awaiting his new name. This harkens to Jesus’ later statement “Behold, I make all things new.”

Those thoughts comfort me and give me hope as I pick up the dirt and clay of this earth in my daily life. That God can use the dirt in my life to repair or replace what is missing in my life, molding me into that which he intends me to become, and that once completed, washing clean all that is no longer needed and I will emerge a new person.

Responses

  1. Amazing insight!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

