Posted by: geolocke | 2016/10/26

Simple Words – Deep Meanings

I like to read and I like to write, both of which are handy traits to have, especially seeing as how I also dabble in occasionally posting to this Blog.

One of the joys I receive in all this is when I discover an old word or phrase that has fallen out of general usage. When I find one of these disused words or phrases, I like to take them apart and dwell upon their meaning, slowly speaking them out loud and listen to the sound of the syllables as they roll off my tongue. Sometimes I even wait and see if I can use them in a sentence or in a conversation.

Yes, I am a word nerd, but not to the point where I could win a spelling bee or participate on some game show.  For me, the experience is just a private pleasure.

I use some of the same processes during my daily scriptural readings, reflections meditations and prayers.  I suppose I could say that the process is similar to the prayer form called Lectio Divina, but I am not intentional in my approach or process, it just happens to be the way I am wired.

And this process is also true with my prayers. Having grown up Catholic in the south, I learned two forms of Prayer; the Catholic Standard prayers I learned by rote, The Our Father, The Hail Mary, The Glory Be, and the Sign Of The Cross, as well as the Protestant tradition of what I call Free Prayer, spoken from the heart at the moment. I see value in both forms of prayer, but I must confess that I have been agitated on several occasions when a blessing before sitting down to supper went into its third minute … or longer.

I tend to reserve free form prayer for my personal reflections and meditations, and the Catholic standards for my daily scriptural readings and prayers. But sometimes I also find the standards are worthy of reflection and meditation in their own right.

When I slowly sign myself and to reflect upon the words: “What I do here today, I do in the Name of The Father, and of The Son, and of The Holy Spirit. Amen!” Do I really, truly believe and profess  what I am saying, and fully realize the implications of what these words mean?

Or when I slow down and pray, “All glory be to The Father, and to The Son, and to The Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever will be, world without end. Amen!” Do I really give all Glory and honor to God, or am I reserving just a little bit for my ego?

Or when I take time and really plead, “Hail Mary, fully of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus! Holy Mary, mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen!” Do I really offer due honor to her who freely accepted to be the living ark of God’s Eternal Covenant? Do I avail myself of her unending prayers of aid and assistance for my salvation?

Or when I really feel the Cross as it lies upon my back, barely able to breathe because of its weight, barely able to pray;

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy Name. Thy Kingdom come. Thy Will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us, not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen!

And when my heart is so wounded by troubles in this life that it can barely find the strength to recite the entire prayer and settles upon its bare essence:

Thy Will Be Done.

When I pray these simple words, truly letting go of self, letting go of ego, letting go of all possessions physical, mental, and spiritual, and I fall into that deep well of acceptance, it is then that I feel closest to God, and I know Peace.

Responses

  1. Very comforting George saying as you wish to your spouse and to God brings peace and strength

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

