Posted by: geolocke | 2016/02/05

Singing Praises

As for me, I trust in your merciful love.
Let my heart rejoice in your saving help:
Let me sing to the Lord for his goodness to me,
singing psalms to the name of the Lord, the Most High.

From Psalm 13

For the past several weeks, the first readings for the Mass have been mostly from the book of the prophet Samuel. I’ve been remembering and learning the story of David, how he was chosen and anointed, how he brought down Goliath with his sling and stone, how he suffered under the jealousy of King Saul, and how he mourned when Saul and his son Jonathan, David’s dearest friend were slain in battle, and ultimately how he sinned against the Lord and the price he paid for those sins.

But In today’s first reading from chapter 47 of the book of Sirach I see a different side of David.

With his whole being he loved his Maker and daily had his praises sung;
He set singers before the Altar and by their voices he made sweet melodies,
He added beauty to the feasts and solemnized the seasons of each year
So that when the Holy Name was praised, before daybreak the sanctuary would resound.

As a minister of the Word through the grace and gift of my voice in song, this passage is very familiar to me because, in a manner of speaking, this is how his praises are still sung today. I’ll admit that I do not so much make the sanctuary resound, but in my heart I do.

The life and times of David were not easy by any means, but he still placed the praise of his Maker as a top priority for him, regardless of the circumstances of the day. I would do well to remember that in my own daily struggles.

Responses

  1. Ah, yes, some good thoughts. Thank you for these verses.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

