Posted by: geolocke | 2015/12/06

Advent 2015 – 2nd Sunday

A second candle is lit on the Advent wreath. A little more light to chase away the long dark night that rules this time of year. Throughout the neighborhood, and all through the city, lights are going up and decorations are taking over lawns and shops and every place of business and office.  It is easy to be distracted by all the sparkling lights shining through the darkness, but at this moment, I have just these two candles softly flickering before me, and they are a great comfort to me.

The two candles remind me about two of the foundations of my faith; the Old Testament and the New Testament. We listen to readings from both Testaments most days of the year, and we learn how they complement one another. This morning we hear from Baruch and Luke as they both echo the words of the great Prophet Isaiah:

In the wilderness prepare the way of the LORD! Make straight in the wasteland a highway for our God! Every valley shall be lifted up, every mountain and hill made low;

The rugged land shall be a plain, the rough country, a broad valley. Then the glory of the LORD shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together;

I so enjoy the word of the Lord that comes to us through the Prophet Isaiah. Poetic and smooth, and at the same time sharp as a razor, able to cut through the clutter of my thoughts and pierce my heart to its core.

This passage is one that I keep in mind all year long because it speaks to me of my need to always make sure that I keep the path of the Lord clear and accessible. It is up to me to keep the pathway to my heart clear and open, free of the clutter of thoughts and feelings that might stop the Lord from reaching me. It is my responsibility to do this because God gave me (all of us) free will: the freedom to choose to embrace or ignore the precious gift of God’s Love and Grace in my life.

God will not take away that gift of free will, but it is up to me to take advantage of it. When I was a child and did not yet know how precious a gift this was, it was my parent’s responsibility to train me to understand and use this gift. But now that I am grown, the responsibility falls solely on me. The training is never complete, but God is there to help me if I just keep the pathways to my heart open and inviting. That is why I keep this passage from Isaiah in mind all year long. To remind me that to keep my faith and to let it flourish,  I need the help of God, and for that I need to keep God’s pathway to my heart clear and open.

I wish you all a Blesséd Advent!

Responses

  1. Thanks, George. A very motivating reflection.

    Like

  2. So tender and full of peace! Thanks George!🙏Our path is our choice may we heed the direction of Isaiah!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

