Posted by: geolocke | 2015/09/12

In Remembrance Of My Birth

The time has come once again to look over what I have done in the past year as I acknowledge the anniversary of my birthing day. All in all I’ve managed to hold my own and have even taken on some new initiatives like eating better and exercising more. As for my work, I am coming to terms (begrudgingly) with my role shifting from the troublesome youngster to being the wizened elder.  This became more apparent this week as two of my long-time co-workers informed me that they would be retiring next year. I still feel like the youngster inside, but my rapidly graying hair serves to remind me that I am moving into this new stage in career and life, and I’m OK with that.

As a child, we always had a party with my neighborhood friends complete with cake and ice cream and candles blown out and wishes for something good. As I grew a little older, we celebrated with a family dinner with mom making the family recipe lasagna which was her mother’s recipe, and before that her grandmother’s recipe from the old country. After going off to college, it was all about having a blow-out party with my friends and when I got married, it was still a party and a dinner with friends, but maybe not so much of a blow-out as before.

Things started changing in the late 1990’s as bad things began happening around my special day that made celebration not very appeasing. two hurricanes on different years, a couple of deaths in my wife’s family, hospitalizations and illnesses, and of course, the attacks on New York, DC and the crash in Pennsylvania. Bad things kept happening through most of the last 15 years, and it got to the point where I dreaded the approach of this day. I didn’t celebrate at all, but rather went to having a quiet supper with my wife and occasionally a few close friends.

But hard times which do not defeat you tend to make you stronger and perhaps even a little wiser. And so, in the past couple of years, I’ve started to look at things in a different light. Now I give thanks for my parents who loved each other so much that they welcomed my creation and nurtured me through my formative years and still care about me today. And I give thanks for my sisters and brothers and what their lives mean to me, not just in our shared upbringing but also our continued growth as adults. And I give thanks to my Wife and all our family and all her family for being such a special part of my life. And I give thanks for all of our very many friends for all the special intangible gifts those friendships bring to us. And most of all I give thanks to God for all of this and more, for my very faith and spirit which God put in me at the very instant of my creation in my mother’s womb.

My birth day fell on the Catholic feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, and I have learned to celebrate this feast day as a reminder to me that no matter how troubled my life might seem at times, I am never alone in my struggles to persevere through to rough spots. And this year I have the added bonus of also celebrating Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, when the Shofar is blown in memory of Moses receiving the Law from The Lord on Mt. Sinai, and in anticipation of the coming of the time of world peace.

What more could anyone ask for on the anniversary of their birth, but to have a trusted companion by their side and a prayer for peace announced to all the world? This year I consider myself a very blessed man.

Responses

  1. You were actually due on the 12th but decided to nap in, so on the 14th the doctor said “that’s long enough.” I was taken to the hospital for induced labor. When the doc said it was a boy, I started crying. The doc said “what’s the matter?” I told him I was so happy that it was a boy, because now we had 2 of each.

    Mom

    Like

  2. So very touching! Gratitude is contagious!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

