Posted by: geolocke | 2015/07/07

Day Trip To Memories

Today I am taking my dad down to the coast for a day trip. It’s been several years since we’ve made such a trip and it could very well be our last such trip together. We’re returning to His (our) favorite place on the sound and once more we’ll stand in silence, sharing the sounds of gentle waves lapping at the shore. Perhaps we’ll catch a glimpse of those majestic herons gingerly pick their way through the tall sea grass looking to catch a quick meal. Or maybe we’ll see a line of brown pelicans skimming over the surface of the waters of the sound as they ride the wind in effortless flight. And we’ll almost certainly listen to the playful cry of the laughing gulls as they soar overhead searching for a meal in the glistening waters below.

Who knows  what times and plans God has in store for us? I am filled with many different emotions this morning as I prepare myself for this day because my dad is in the twilight years of his life and I am of an age where that thought is most poignant in my mind, but an inner peace and a strength of purpose envelops my spirit, comforting me, and I am certain that we will not be alone on our journey for the spirit of the lord still hovers over those very same waters, just as was told in the stories of Genesis. And the memory of our ancestors also reside on and near those same waters so they will also be standing there with us. In the three hundred plus years that our family line has been on this side of the ocean, we’ve never been far from the waters of the Atlantic and her western sounds, bays, and rivers.

So now I must log off here and prepare for my trip, but before I go, I would like to leave you with my traveling prayer. It is more commonly known as an Irish Blessing, but for me it speaks more to the traveler within us all. It was my grandfather’s favorite prayer and we (dad and I) are rather fond of it too.

May the road rise to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face.
May the rains fall gently on your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

May God Bless you all and may your journeys be safe today wherever your roads takes you.

Responses

  1. We share those memories and treasure them!!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

