Posted by: geolocke | 2015/07/01

Stormy Weather and Pleasant Dreams

I was deep in the middle of a dream when my alarm went off this morning. I remember thinking to myself, as I rolled over to shut it off, that I wanted just a couple more minutes to finish the dream. I don’t remember exactly what the dream was about, other than a vague recollection of it dealing with storms. I do remember that when it was concluded, I did wake up and it was half an hour later.

When I read today’s Mass readings, I found it interesting that today’s Gospel passage is the story of Jesus asleep in the boat while the stormy sea rages all about. (Matthew 8:23-27). Jesus, unperturbed by the fury of the storm-tossed sea, sleeps in the back of the boat while the crew is in a near panic. It is only when the crew awakens Jesus with their the cries for him to save them does Jesus seem upset, not at the storm, but with the crew: “Why are you terrified, O you of little faith?” And then, almost as an afterthought, Jesus calms the storm and the waves.

I’ve meditated upon this passage quite a bit today, and like this morning’s unfinished dream I’ve wound up with several unfinished thoughts, which I will need to come back to and consider again. These thoughts are (in no particular order of hierarchy):

a) This passage is the only passage I can recall in any of the four Gospels where Jesus is portrayed sleeping. Isn’t it interesting that Christ found himself able to sleep through the Storm which upset the crew of the boat? Of course the simplest explanation is that Christ had no reason to fear his own creation, but looked at in another way I could also see that Christ had the utmost confidence in the abilities of the crew to take care of him and preserve him from the ruin of the raging storm. This is the same confidence Jesus places in the Holy family to care for him when he comes from Heaven to earth as a helpless babe.

b) I wonder if Christ was perturbed at being woken more because of the Crew’s lack of faith, or perhaps, because he was brought out of sleep in the midst of a dream? There are plenty of tales throughout Sacred Scripture about God visiting folks in their dreams, but what would the dreams of Christ have been like? Dreams of Peace for the Children of God? Dreams of a new Jerusalem coming down from the heavens? I realize that these are all just silly speculations, because no one can probe the mind of God except the Holy Spirit, and yet still my mind is drawn by the wonder of the thought.

c) Although I’ve read and heard today’s Gospel Passage proclaimed many times over the years, today for the first time it brings to my mind a connection to another of my favorite passages in Sacred Scripture, the story of when the Prophet Elijah, fearing for his life, sought refuge in the cave on Mount Horeb. (1st Kings: Chapter 19) […] the LORD said: Go out and stand on the mountain before the LORD, the LORD will be passing by. There was a strong and violent wind rending the mountain and crushing rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind; after the wind, an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake; after the earthquake, a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire; after the fire, a quiet whispering sound. When he heard this, Elijah hid his face in his cloak and went out and stood at the entrance of the cave. […]

Perhaps the crew of the boat would have been more confident if they had realized that the Lord was not raging about in the howling winds and crashing waves of the storm, but instead was sleeping gently in the back of their ship, trusting in their skill to keep him safe while he dreamed of peace for all God’s children for all times yet to come. That is a pleasant thought on which I’ll end this day’s meditations on this Gospel passage.

And so this evening, as summer storms threaten, rumble, and blow across the piedmont, I will sleep soundly, trusting my safety to the care of our gracious Lord, who first placed his trust in humans to care for him and all God’s creation. Perhaps I will dream and, God willing, maybe my dreams will be of peace.

Good night, and pleasant dreams to all of you.

Responses

  1. HE is seeing us through the storms!!!! Thanks for putting it so well!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. I think Christ was peaceful and therefore the sea was peaceful.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

