Posted by: geolocke | 2015/06/05

Faith, Hope, and Love

Dearest little flowers, I was saddened to hear that your mother is still struggling through her recovery. Even though you are on the verge of adulthood, you are still of an age where seeing your mom struggling might frighten you a little.  But I have a secret to share with you; It is ok to be a little frightened. I am much older than you and even I get a little frightened sometimes when I think of my mom and dad and their struggles.

Be strong in your faith in God’s wonderful healing powers and do not let your hopes for your mom’s recovery be troubled by your fears. You can help to reduce those fears by helping your family by exercising one of God’s greatest gifts to you, Love.

You can help your mom by taking care of her in little, simple ways. You can bring her a flower, even if it is just a clover picked from your yard, to let her know of your love for her. Or you could offer to help with the chores around the house without being asked to do so. You can even just sit quietly with her, blessing her with your presence. All these and more like them are examples of how you can show your mother how much you love her and care for her.

And don’t forget about your dad.  Even though he may be putting on a brave face, laughing and joking and acting normal, know that he is also concerned for your mother and for you. Give your dad a big hug and tell him you love him. And remember to also pay special attention to your grandparents because even though your mom is a grownup, she is still their little girl. Love heals so many wounds that the eyes cannot see.

And for the rest of your fears? Bundle up your remaining fears with all your hopes and loves and joys and sorrows and offer them all up to God in faithful prayer just as they are. You do not need a complicated prayer, listing everything you can think of. In times like these, a simple prayer is best because God can read the most subtle motives of your heart, thus leaving you free to rest for a little while in comfort and gain strength from God’s Holy Presence.

Faith, Hope and Love are some of the most powerful gifts of the Holy Spirit, but they become stronger within us when we exercise them. Of these three, Love is the strongest and best because it is the one that we can put into action to heal one another and ourselves. My Prayer I leave you with is St. Paul’s 13th chapter from his 2nd letter to the Corinthians.

If I speak in human and angelic tongues but do not have love, I am a resounding gong or a clashing cymbal. And if I have the gift of prophecy and comprehend all mysteries and all knowledge; if I have all faith so as to move mountains but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give away everything I own, and if I hand my body over so that I may boast but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind.
It is not jealous, it is not pompous, it is not inflated,
it is not rude, it does not seek its own interests,
it is not quick-tempered, it does not brood over injury,
it does not rejoice over wrongdoing but rejoices with the truth.

It bears all things,
believes all things,
hopes all things,
endures all things.

Love never fails.

If there are prophecies, they will be brought to nothing;
if tongues, they will cease;
if knowledge, it will be brought to nothing.
For we know partially and we prophesy partially,
but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away.

When I was a child, I used to talk as a child, think as a child, reason as a child;
when I became a man, I put aside childish things.

At present we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then face to face.
At present I know partially; then I shall know fully, as I am fully known.

So faith, hope, love remain, these three;
but the greatest of these is love.

So rest easy tonight, gentle little flowers, secure in the faith and hope and love of God.

Peace!

Leave a Reply

Categories

