Posted by: geolocke | 2015/06/01

6am – June 1, 2015

This morning’s walk was especially beautiful. The year is approaching the Summer Solstice so the light changes rapidly at this time of day in the northern hemisphere. I began my walk in near total darkness with only a few birds singing their morning praises to their creator. As I walked, the sky grew brighter and the bird’s song swelled as more awoke and joined the chorus.

The sky was draped with large cumulus clouds towering up toward the stars. As I walked the growing light of the coming day painted the cloud tops with different colors, from the faintest blues down through browns and the faintest blush of reds, all set against the backdrop of a black night sky with the brightest stars still shining through between the clouds.

By the time I was returning home the light reflecting from the cloud-tops was bathing the ground with the glow of the coming day, although night’s shadow still ruled under the tree canopy. By now the bird’s song had swelled to a roar and for a brief moment I was reminded of similar dawning moments in Guatemala.

If I was an artist, I would have stood right there and painted the scene before me, or if I had brought my camera I would have attempted to take a photograph of that moment. But the light changes to fast for an artist to do more than make the briefest sketch, and a camera can not capture the vast expanse of earth and sky and the heavens above, So I must capture this moment in halting words from memory, both of which are inadequate for the task.

Once back home I settled in for morning prayers and it was then while reciting (praying) the Canticle of Zaechariah (Luke 1:68-79) that I fully grasped the gift of this morning’s message:

“In the tender compassion of our God
the dawn from on high shall break upon us,
to shine on those who dwell in darkness and the shadow of death
and to guide our feet into the way of peace.”

I pray you all have a very Blessed day. -geo

Responses

  1. God bless you! Thanks for your prayers as my surgery successful! Please continue to pray for Ursula. Xx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • Marjorie, You and your family are lifted up in prayer when I play my rosary. Take care and heal well, dear friend. -geo

      Like

  2. This reflection made me want to go outside tomorrow morning, rather that sit in my chair in the darkness to pray. I just might do it on the second day of June.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sister Renee, I hope you did get outside this morning. Although not as memorable (in my mind’s eye) as yesterday, this morning did have its special points. First, you may have noticed the setting of the full moon lighting up the western sky. Second, about 5:15, you might have caught a glimpse of the International Space Station as it traversed the sky in its orbit from northwest to southeast. It was lit up as bright as the planet Venus with the reflection of the Sun’s light. Thank you for your kind thoughts and your prayers. May God Bless you! -geo

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

