Posted by: geolocke | 2015/05/29

A Prayer By Caryll Houselander

This prayer is by Caryll Houselander whose work I really enjoy reading and reflecting upon. I highly recommend her works.
*****

Father,
do not let me find consolation
in sensible devotion
to the person of Jesus Christ
while Jesus Christ passes me by
unrecognized,
unknown,
uncomforted
on the Via Crucis
we travel together.

Do not let my heart
be moved by pity
for the painted Christ on the wall
while it remains a stone,
hard, insensitive
to Christ suffering alone
in the ugliness of shame and disgrace
in the outcast,
the shunned,
the forgotten:
in mental sufferers hidden away in hospitals,
in prisoners serving life sentences,
in people wrestling with bitterness and despair
behind the Iron Curtain;
in those fighting a losing fight
with human weakness and degradation-
in the unhelped,
the uncomforted,
the unloved.

Do not give me tears
to shed at the feet of the crucifix
while they blind me to Christ crucified,
unwept for in the souls of sinners
and in my own sinful soul.

Leave a Reply

Categories

