Posted by: geolocke | 2015/02/07

Scattered Seed

In the Gospel of Luke, Chapter 8 we are told the parable of the sower and the seed.

“A sower went out to sow his seed. And as he sowed, some seed fell on the path and was trampled, and the birds of the sky ate it up. Some seed fell on rocky ground, and when it grew, it withered for lack of moisture. Some seed fell among thorns, and the thorns grew with it and choked it. And some seed fell on good soil, and when it grew, it produced fruit a hundredfold.”

And just to make sure we get the point, the meaning of the parable is then explained:

“Those on the path are the ones who have heard, but the devil comes and takes away the word from their hearts that they may not believe and be saved. Those on rocky ground are the ones who, when they hear, receive the word with joy, but they have no root; they believe only for a time and fall away in time of trial. As for the seed that fell among thorns, they are the ones who have heard, but as they go along, they are choked by the anxieties and riches and pleasures of life, and they fail to produce mature fruit. But as for the seed that fell on rich soil, they are the ones who, when they have heard the word, embrace it with a generous and good heart, and bear fruit through perseverance.”

Often after hearing or reading this Gospel passage, I was left contemplating which type of ground described my heart. I had thought for a time that my heart could only be one type of ground and if not the good ground, then what? But I have come to realize my heart has been all of the ground types, depending on what stage of life I have been in.

My heart was hard and disbelieving at times in my teen years, thinking for a while that God was just a fairy tale taught to children to keep them in line. And when I first began taking my faith seriously my heart leaped for joy upon hearing the word, only to then be disappointed when all my imaginings of what I thought God’s Promise meant did not come true immediately on my schedule. And there were times when troubles seemed to overwhelm me and I caught myself more than once asking God: “Where are you?”

The Sower scatters seed over all ground types, and not just once for all but continually. And the Sower does not give up on the promise of growing a crop that will produce fruit in abundance. Even the hardest rocky soil still contains cracks and crevasses where a stray seed may fall and take root. And even the seed that sprouts and then withers quickly leaves behind a little of itself as the makings of soil for the next seed that may be lodged there. Over time, as enough seeds find their way in, only to sprout up and wither, soil will be built up to allow for more growth, even if it be with thorns and other weeds. But eventually, with patience, the Sower will finally place the seed in soil that has been conditioned to the point that it will produce the fruit that the sower seeks.

For me that moment came in a time of trial, when my life seemed crowded with thorns and rocks and a hard path lay before me. Only when I came to the point where I understood: “Not my will, but Thy will be done” did that seed fall upon the conditioned soil of my heart and I began producing useful fruit.

It has been years since then. I still experience times of trial, and a few thorns still grow along the sometimes rocky path, but still I strive to produce useful fruit. And all the while the Sower continues to scatter the seed wherever it will fall, and I now eagerly await for the coming of the harvest.

Leave a Reply

Categories

