Posted by: geolocke | 2014/11/26

For a Friend

My dear friend,  It seems lately that events both far away and close to home have conspired to send us all swirling down the drain into chaos and darkness. You have been closely involved in many of those events and lately you are feeling betrayed by their outcome. I have seen your anger and your rage, your pain, heartbreak, confusion, and your despair. You are suffering terribly and it pains me to watch your suffering. I wish I could tell you that soon things will be better, but that is not for me to know.

My own self-defense is to stand and let the controversy swirl around me. I stand and pray for all parties on all sides. I pray for calm heads to prevail. I pray for the restoration of trust and good will among one another. The voice of my injured pride yells “This is outrageous, we must stand and fight, not passively let them get away with this atrocity!” But the voice of my heart reminds me that anger feeds upon anger, so it is not in acts of violence, either physical, verbal, or mental, in which we will destroy the enemy. Rather, it is only through acts of Peace that we can disarm the forces of anger and hatred. So I pray and I look for ways that I might sow Peace.

For I know in my deepest inmost being that as long as some people are willing to not give into hatred, but proclaim Love instead, then there is hope yet that this tired old world will one day come to its senses and live in peace and brotherhood (and Sisterhood) as God intended us to live. To that end, I leave you with the Prayer of St. Francis and I will pray for the healing of your wounded spirit.

Lord, make me an instrument of Your Peace

Where there is hatred… let me sow love
Where there is injury… pardon
Where there is discord… unity
Where there is doubt… faith
Where there is error… truth
Where there is despair… hope
Where there is sadness… joy
Where there is darkness… light

Oh Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled… as to console
To be understood… as to understand
To be loved… as to love

For
It is in giving… that we receive
It is in pardoning… that we are pardoned
It is in dying… that we are born to eternal live.

Responses

  1. Hi George,

    I will enjoy sevenfold gifts today.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Sister Renee

    ________________________________

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

