Posted by: geolocke | 2014/11/16

The Last Psalm

From my journal, an attempt at poetry to try to capture my feelings after Easter, 2011

The Last Psalm

The last psalm has been sung
The last bell has been rung
The candles extinguished
The last service is finished
The crowd has now fled
To the buffet to be fed

Yet I still smell the incense
It reminds of Your presence
So I dip fingers in Blessed Water
Touch Head, Breast, and both Shoulders
I close my eyes and say a quick prayer
Thank you Lord, for letting me dare

I dare to believe that You are real
I dare to believe that You will heal
I dare to believe despite my afflictions
I dare to believe despite of rejections
I dare to believe that You care for the earth
I dare to believe that You had human birth
I dare to believe that You walked in our way
I dare to believe that You died on that day
I dare to believe that You rose once again
I dare to believe that You will come yet again

Oh Heavenly Father, Beloved Son, Spirit Blessed
Come dwell in my heart and there take your rest
Re-fashion my heart to your own design
Make it a home fitting for Your Love Devine

Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

