Posted by: geolocke | 2014/04/18

A Lesson from the Lord’s Table

This evening begins the great Triduum, the Holiest time of the Christian year when we re-present Christ ‘s Passion and Resurrection over the next three days, capping it all with the celebration of Easter Morning this Sunday (yes, that would be four days total). For those of us in the Music Ministries, it is our busiest time of year with little time for rest or reflection, so I take it when I can.

Tonight we celebrated the Lord’s Last supper before he was arrested. While we Catholics recall our Lord’s Last Supper at every Mass with the transubstantiation of the Bread and Wine into our Lord’s Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity, this evening is different. Tonight, we focus on John’s Gospel telling of the Last Supper which focuses not on the Bread and Wine, but on Christ’s washing of his Disciple’s feet.

After they ate, Christ took off his outer garments, tied a towel around his waist, and taking a bowl of water, proceeded to was the feet of his followers. Afterward, he asked them:

“Do you realize what I have just done? You call me teacher and Master and rightly so. I have given you a model to follow. If I as your master have done this for you, so you must do for one another.”

We as Catholics sometimes tend to focus our attention on maintaining our membership in the Body of Christ and not so much on maintaining our fellow members. As Paul said (paraphrased), “there is one Bread and one Body, and we are all members of that one body. If One member rejoices then we all rejoice. If one member hurts, then we all hurt.”

My own slackness on this point was driven home tonight by my Priest’s homily. He reminded me of something I should not have forgotten. The priest, as Christ’s representative on Earth, is responsible for every soul that lives within the boundaries of his Parrish. Not just Catholic Souls. Not just Christian Souls, but every soul; believers and non believers alike. And we, by the virtue of our Baptism and our profession of Faith, must be willing to do the same, perhaps not to the same degree as the priest, but we should be willing to serve one another, stranger and friend alike.

Perhaps I am kidding myself when I think of how I am serving those around me. There are so many more folks who do so much more every day to serve others when compared to what I do (which seems so very little in retrospect.) Still, Paul’s words come to my rescue when he states that we can not all be Priests, etc. I just pray that what I manage to do does actually help someone, and I pray that I might keep my eyes, my ears, my mind and my heart always open, ready to serve when the opportunity presents itself.

Lord, if my gift to serve is using my voice and the written word, then may I do so humbly, always keeping in mind that it is not my voice, not my written word, but Your Voice and Your Word working through me. I am just your instrument. Make me Your instrument of Peace. May it always be so.

Amen.

Responses

  1. I, too, heard that homily. An immediate image came to me: where I work is my “parish”, and the souls immediately around me represent those who come to “church”. My responsibility lies in being Christ to these people. It’s a nice, manageable number.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

